Academic Technology Services - Moodle support

Add someone to your course

If you want to add a TA, PLA or Guest to your course, there are a few simple steps to follow.  Explanations about the privileges of these roles and who they are generally assigned to are available at this link.  

Click here if you'd like to view these instructions as a short video.

 

The steps below are all you will need to do to add someone to your course:

Logging into Moodle from the top right hand side of the home page.
Login to Moodle and browse to the course you want to enroll a user.

 

Clicking "Users" and then "Enrolled users" from the "Administration" block.
On the left side, in the Navigation block, click Participants underneath the name of your course.

 

Clicking the "Enroll Users" button on the right side of the Participants page.
On the right side of the page that opens, click the Enroll Users button.

 

Entering the user's name in the search field.
Type the name or part of the name for the person you wish to add, and select the correct user from the list. Users that match that name will show in the middle area of the window.

 

Choosing a role from the dropdown menu in the window that opens

In the Assign Role dialogue window, select the role you wish to assign. PLEASE NOTE: The Guest role may only passively observe the course, and may not participate in course activities. Please be certain this is the appropriate choice before adding users with this role.

 

Clicking the "Enroll users" button at the bottom of the window.
Click the Enroll Users button to save your changes.  

 

If you accidentally add a user with the wrong role, you can follow these steps to fix it:

Clicking on the participant's role in the role column from the Participants page.
From the Participants page, click the on the participant's role in the Roles column.

 

Choosing the correct role from the dropdown menu.
Choose the new correct role from the dropdown menu.

 

Clicking on the white X next to the old role you would like to remove.
Click on the white X next to the old role you would like to remove.

 

Clicking on the disk icon to save your changes, or clicking the gray X to cancel them.
Click on the disk icon to save your changes, or click the gray X to cancel them.

 

If you have any questions or problems, please don't hesitate to contact Academic Technology Services.